1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Transmission Questions

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by seville009, Oct 24, 2003.

1. seville009

seville009 Senior Member
    from CNY

I'm no mechanic, but have gained alot of knowledge about my truck's (1999 Expedition) transmissions/axles/etc from this site and from the process of putting a plow on.

Some questions that I have about automatics:

(a) I understand that heat is bad for the transmission, but when a transmission "burns out", what, exactly, is breaking in the tranmission? Is it the mechanical things that are actually moving the pieces around? What exactly is the "weak link" in the transmission.

(b) Why would shifting from reverse to drive frequently cause the transmission to fail? I understand about not shifting while it is motion, as the gears/teeth would be "slammed". I had first hand experience with this back in the 1970's when I got stuck in a snowbank with a 1976 Plymouth Grand Fury and ruined the transmission trying to get out..