1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Transmission Question

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by KenFred, Jan 28, 2004.

1. KenFred

KenFred Junior Member

I am entertaining the idea of putting a small plow on my 03 Explorer. My main concern is tranny problems.

With my transmission I have three choices, Auto 4X4, High 4X4 and Low 4X4. In the auto mode if the truck senses it needs to be in 4X4 it will do so automatically. This leads to my question of when plowing would it be easier on my transmission if I leave it in 4X4 auto then to lock it in with 4X4 high?

Would the transmission be more prone to overheating if it is in 4X4 high?

As you can see I am not a mechanic so any assistance would be apprecited...

2. JMR

JMR Senior Member

Use 4 x 4 HI. Adding an additional trans cooler would probably be advisable.
  3. Plow Meister

Plow Meister PlowSite.com Addict

I agree 100% with JMR. Keep it in 4 HI. As for the trans, any good trans shop can install an auxiliary cooler for around $150.00. Some plow installation companies may offer this service also.

If you plan on putting a plow on an Explorer, you will want to find a very light plow. Explorers are not really made for plowing, especially commercially, but will be fine for your own personal driveway and maybe the neighbors.
  4. ratlover

ratlover PlowSite.com Addict
    from IL