1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

traction

Discussion in 'ATV / UTV Snow Removal' started by ccbracing, Dec 28, 2010.

1. ccbracing

ccbracing Junior Member

I'm new to plowing with my atv (Rincon 650) and Moose County 50" plow. First time out traction was lousy on my paved drive with ITP Mudlites. Added 3 sand tubes totaling 180 lbs that helped a lot on the second try, but still finding traction is the limiter. Would like to avoid chains as they're rough on the pavement. Has anybody tried flipping the wheels so the v tread is facing forward? Any other suggestions? Thanks!

2. gemarsh

gemarsh Junior Member

The tires won't clean and will pack full, unless you can spin the snow out. You will have more traction going in reverse after you get stuck going forwards. :>)

Be Safe
    Gayle

3. SQuad

SQuad Member

Costly, but put a set of passenger car snow tires and rims on your ATV for the winter, like night and day. You don'y need deep lug tires once you've plowed the snow to the side or furl it it front of you. Skinnier and a larger contact surface area, siping from the passenger tire will give you the traction your looking for.

Last edited: Dec 29, 2010
  4. 06Sierra

06Sierra PlowSite.com Addict
    from Maine

The crappy stock tires would probable be the best for plowing. How much air are you running in the mudlights?

5. ccbracing

ccbracing Junior Member

about 3.5 lbs, which is what the Honda manual calls for. Is more better?

6. 06Sierra

06Sierra PlowSite.com Addict
    from Maine

No. I have mudlihgts on mine and only run about 3 psi in each.

7. Aveerainc

Aveerainc Senior Member
    from NH