1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Traction problems, 2 1/2 ton Dump, 2WD, 10ft plow

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Dennis/Ohio, Jan 10, 2009.

1. Dennis/Ohio

Dennis/Ohio Junior Member

hello,
    I'm a rookie but thought I'd post here since its a commercial truck.
    I can put 5 ton in dump bed and traction couldn't be better. Plow a commercial gravel drive with blade raised a couple of inches (no skids on plow). The problem is when I go back next day I can't get any traction at all. I'm thinking tire chains if I can get them on and off in a reasonable time frame?
    thanks for any input, Dennis........

2. mycirus

mycirus Senior Member
    from Mass

A little confused here. You can put 5 tons in the back, or you have 5 tons in it? You should keep weight in there for traction. And if you plow is raised a little, there will be snow left behind which will turn to ice unless its salted afterwards. I think more info is needed. People on here like pictures too.

3. paponte

paponte Senior Member

5ton in a 2 1/2ton truck. Veeeeeery interesting. :confused:

4. Joe D

Joe D Senior Member

Sounds like you need a urethane edge to scrape it down to gravel. I use to plow a gravel lot with my urethane edge with very little gravel buildup. Some happens but it's a fact of life. In the spring it means a little road maintance for the owners but a safer road all winter.

5. IPLOWSNO

IPLOWSNO PlowSite.com Addict

a couple dog chains would be quick, and it works imo

6. justme-

justme- 2000 Club Member