1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

TOW HAUL Question

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by Omran, Jan 7, 2011.

1. Omran

Omran Senior Member
    from KY

Do you guys use the Tow haul Overdrive option on your F superduties when driving to the site with a plow? and another Question, do you guys use 4x4 as recomended by ford when plowing or do you have any recomendation to have a long life of your tranny.

I am new to operating plow on my truck I have been doing plowing for years with skidsteer and I found a very nice Western Plow for real fair price and got it, so now I would like to get the pro advise on how to operate my 06 F350 Diesel the pro way, I have all the time when I work and I am never in a rush.

I appreciate now all your time.

2. show-n-go

show-n-go Senior Member

i never use that button when driving with the plow on and have never had and issue.
    As far as 4x4 i only use it when needed, most of the time i use 2wd. Just make sure to come to a complete stop before shifting, and i try to make as long of a run as i can versus foward,reverse,foward,reverse. Not sure if that helps a ton but i havent had a trans problem in all of my years plowing.

3. bobcat310

bobcat310 Junior Member

I had the same question to about the tow haul most friend people at ford say leave it off just put it in 3 or 2

4. Tony350

Tony350 Senior Member

You said the biggest part "I I have all the time when I work and I am never in a rush." Just like sho and go said make sure you are all the way stopped before you shift. Don't try to push more than you can.