1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Tough to turn in 4x4

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by ScubaSteve728, Nov 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ScubaSteve728

ScubaSteve728 Senior Member

i am new to fords and solid front axle trucks. when i lock both hubs and engage the 4x4 switch and try to do tight turns the truck almost dosent want to move. is it just the u joint or transfer case just wondering if its bad or whats up. found this out before i went to go tear up a field at my buddy's house
  2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Its you. Don't try turning tight on a dry pavement or you'll blow something out .Start learning how to do 3 pt turns when in 4x4.
  3. Sawboy

Sawboy PlowSite.com Addict

Yup. Like Grandview said. Keep that up on dry ground and you'll see what the inside of your axles look like in a hurry. :(
  4. ScubaSteve728

should i lock my hubs manually also before plowing? because i know they are automatic vacuum hubs
  5. Sawboy

No need if you have the shift on the fly. I have never locked mine manually. There might be situations, deep mud maybe where it's prudent, but I've never needed to.
  6. ScubaSteve728

i heard to keep them clean and greased up and use them a few times so they aren't seized when you need them
  7. Sawboy

I throw mine into 4high about once every 3-4 months. That's all. But in reality, if the wheel is moving, it's being lubricated. The engagement doesn't change how the grease in the hub works.
  8. Antlerart06

Antlerart06 PlowSite Veteran

Your truck must have posi trac in the rear if it was limited slip it will turn tight in 4x4
  9. Sawboy