1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Total newbie, too many options

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by dpm64, Oct 23, 2003.

1. dpm64

dpm64 Junior Member

Hi, total newbie to the site and to plowing. I need some help making an equipment decision. Here's my situation:

1) Building a house in NW Connecticut (the snowy corner),
    2) 800' of unpaved driveway,
    3) A whole bunch of subcontractors between me and my CO, some of whom might not show up if there's a flake of snow on the driveway,
    4) Bank says I've got to be done by Feb 17,
    5) I have 2003 Tundra Access Cab 4x4 V8, which I use to commute to work,
    6) I also have a semi-retired 1986 Toyota Xtra Cab 4x4 4cyl in reasonable shape, and least as far as the drivetrain goes,
    7)We seem to be in exactly the same weather pattern that dumped on us last year, so I expect much the same this year,
    8) Did I mention the 800' of driveway?

So the problem boils down to do I plow with the new truck, which I need to keep in good shape, or the old truck, which might not be powerful enough?

I also need to keep costs as low as possible (see #1 above). I suppose I could sign up with someone to keep it plowed, but I really can't risk being low on someone's list and have subs not be able to get in there.

Any suggestions?

2. cat320

cat320 2000 Club Member

I would say then outfit the old truck with the plow and just plow with the storm in smaller increments.

3. wyldman

wyldman Member

I'd put a used plow on the old truck.You can use low range if needed to help push it.

4. dpm64

dpm64 Junior Member