1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Total CONFUSION!!!!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by LordOfTheSith, Dec 12, 2006.

1. LordOfTheSith

LordOfTheSith Member

I am new to plowing. I have a 2004 Dodge Dakota with a light duty Sno-Way setup. I have gotten so many different answers to these two questions my head is spinning so I decided to come to where I can get professional advice. My questions are these:

1) Do I plow in Drive, 2 or 1?

2) Do I plow in 4wd hi or low ?

THANKS for the help guys!

Tom

2. nekos

nekos Senior Member

1. plow in Drive
    2. try to plow in 2wd if you start to slide around put it in 4wd High. you can plow in 4wd low but i haveent ever needed to.

3. ThisIsMe

ThisIsMe Senior Member
    from Mass

Like Nekos said. Plow in 2 high. I like to use 2 high and 4 high only when needed. I think, "well I am in 4x4 I better be careful". Plus it is easier to steer in 2x2.

The one exception to this rule is gravel or dirt roads / driveways. Lot of times the chatter of the rear-end hop will cause ruts in the dirt. In that case I put it in 4x4 to keep from tearing up the road.

Might not be the best, but it is how I like to work.

Chris

4. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine