1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

tornado prewet

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Hysert, Feb 19, 2016.

1. Hysert

Hysert PlowSite.com Addict

This is my first attempt at a prewet system? I've been up and down about trying liquid for a few yrs now! 50gal tank, 3gpm 12v pump, 1 60° fan.. I also put a quick disconnect for removing the spinner.. I will be running caliber ice melt.. i connected it to one of my upfitter switches that i used for the vibrator, both have the same plug so i can switch if need be. I haven't ran it yet so any input would be great? My plans are to use it on real cold days and places with no sun.. any advise from you guys running would be great

2016-02-19 17.16.18.jpg

2016-02-19 17.15.57.jpg

2016-02-19 17.15.12.jpg
  2. Ajlawn1

Ajlawn1 Senior Member

I placed mine in chute so it would prewet prior to spinner, just not sure how much you will actually be hitting on the spinner itself.
  3. mpriester

mpriester Senior Member

I second spraying in the chute. How much liquid are you going to be spraying per ton of salt?
    Once you get it dialed in you will wonder why you didn't do it sooner.
  4. Hysert

Thanks guys... I wondered were to mount the nozzle, after some research over the past weeks I was seeing it in both locations?? I have no numbers yet, as I haven't even ran it yet, and I'm not sure if I will be using it on every site! Definitely in prototype stage at this point!
  5. 1olddogtwo

1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic

Looking good H, little trial and experience will go along way.
  6. derekslawncare

derekslawncare PlowSite.com Addict