1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Too Big??? Need help with bid PLEASE

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by Canadian Viking, Feb 17, 2009.

1. Canadian Viking

Canadian Viking Junior Member

Hello everyone
    Just a new guy here trying to make an honest living. I have a few years experience pushing but none pricing (bidding). I have mostly residential accounts. and a few very small (5-12 spots) parkinglots. I have been asked to bid on a hotel(2009-2010). It has about 140 spots in three large lots and two smaller ones. I have included a pic. The blue highlighted areas are where I can push snow. The orange areas are where they need walks cleared.
    What I really need help with is how long should this lot take to plow with an 8' arctic plow on a GMC K2500 4x4. I figure the snowblowing should take about 1-2 hours depending on snow fall.
    Also I do not have much experience salting (no salter on truck yet) Would a tailgate salter filled with bagged (40kgs) salt be good enough for this sort of property? How much salt would I expect to use per application?
    One final question: Am I biting off more than I can chew?? I dont mind workin hard or long hours but I also dont want to leave customers waiting endlessly and unhappy ( Not a good way to build up a business)
    Thanks in advance everyone!

90 GMC K2500 4x4 w 8' Arctic
    MTD 28" 4stroke blower & loading ramps
    80lbs walk behind spreader
    Various Hand shovels ( Yea thats right I said Hand Shovel!!!)
    A Warm pair of boots and an addiction to Red Bull

Hilton Garden Inn arial view.jpg

2. jblatti13

jblatti13 Senior Member