1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

To Big of a Commercial Bite?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by sdplowing, Jul 19, 2007.

1. sdplowing

sdplowing Senior Member

I've been doing residential plowing for the last 7 years, last year was on my own. A new hotel is being built near me with a 110 space lot. I'm not sure about other details such as sidewalks and what not because the building is not yet completed. My question is, would this be too much for a first time commercial? I have a 3/4 ton with an 8' plow, a lawn tractor I could clear walkways with. I don't have a spreader yet, but I would get one. Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Sean

2. sdplowing

sdplowing Senior Member

So I take it this was a bad question.:confused:

3. bribrius

bribrius PlowSite.com Addict

naa. never hurts to try.

you may not get the contract anyway. i would worry about it if and when you get it.

if you do i imagine you will be sub ing out most of your residentials? most likley you would also be subbing part of the hotel complex work. they will most likley want the snow hauled away a couple times a year to prevent big piles. may also want the tar scraped down by a grader or loader type set up so its down to the bare tar. worry about it if you get it. then put the pieces together.
    depending on what it pays this could be the opportunity to buy some more equipment.

Last edited: Jul 22, 2007
  4. QuadPlower

QuadPlower PlowSite.com Addict

110 spaces is not that big. You should be able to do it with your equipment. But depending on what it you figure to get paid, I would get a back up truck.