1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Tires???

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by biggtruck, Nov 4, 2004.

1. biggtruck

biggtruck Junior Member

Hey guys. Is anyone plowing with mud tires?? I know that all terrain tires are ideal but my dad runs a tire store and can get me a great deal on mud tires. I plowed with the all terrains and loved them,what can i expect from the mud tires.

2. biggtruck

biggtruck Junior Member

Before every one yells to do a search,i did. Didnt find the kind of info i'm looking for. Thanks ahead of time.

3. wfd44

wfd44 Senior Member
    from Maine

I have no first hand experience and look forward to seeing the other replies. However, most mud tires have large blocks of tread but not much in the way of sipes that give the many times more edges for traction on snow and ice.

Your dad can't get you a (maybe not great but..) deal on AT's?

4. Dwan

Dwan Senior Member

ageree with wfd44

if u must use them see if you can have them siped. otherwise they will have poor traction on ice and hard pack snow.

5. Grn Mtn

Grn Mtn PlowSite.com Addict

DodgeRam Tire Debacle

I'm kinda in the same boat except I have to buy my own tires. The big problem is that the Ram comes with 17" rims, and all the good tires are very expensive ($250+) or are load range C or less or NATIONAL BACKORDER! I hate the last one because in my old retail days that was a line we used if we just didn't have it and wanted an opportunity to sell'em something we did have.
    As for using muds, most are load C and you will be pushing the weight capacity, than if you start spinning and turn too sharp you risk blowing the tire or worse.