1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

TIRES, again...

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by monson770, Nov 9, 2014.

1. monson770

monson770 Senior Member

has anyone plowed with Michelin ltx ms/2 or similar style tire? if so, what type of traction does it provide in deep snow?

i have been running general grabber at/2's for the last 3 years or so, and am thinking about buying a tire with some more siping, that preferably goes all the way down hence the reference to the Michelin's... i have had good luck with the grabbers, strong tire, performs well enough in most conditions, but seems to struggle with slush or icy-type conditions, and the smaller amount of sipes is the culprit in my opinion..
    also wondering if the 70k mile warranty is still good when buying a load range E tire and plowing with it.. the guy at discount tire said that it would be but im not sure, maybe a call to Michelin is in order?
  2. 1olddogtwo

1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic

LTX are junk. These are factory on the Ford trucks. Good luck with them if you by a set I'm on my fourth set in 4 years all have been juck
  3. jasburrito

jasburrito Senior Member

Those kinda look like street tires. My buddy just got there Michelin ltx at2. Seem really grippy. The only bad thing is they seem to pick up stones.
  4. seville009

seville009 Senior Member
    from CNY