1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Tire Pressure...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by tooch420, Dec 30, 2011.

1. tooch420

tooch420 Senior Member
    from LI,NY

Hey guys, I'm new to the game and very excited to get out when it snows and plow. I run Toyo Open Country M/T's and I can put them up to 80psi. What should I be running in the fronts with the plow on thats best for traction in the snow.

2. UpstateServices

UpstateServices Junior Member

What is your setup?

Truck,Plow, etc.

use the search function......

Me Ford F-250 SD 4x4 Western 7.5 w/ Buyers wings and 0-800 ballast.

50 PSI all round on 265/75/16s
  3. nick4634

nick4634 Member

ideally as high as safely possible for 2 reasons 1 traction, more pounds per square inch and 2. so the tires wear more evenly.
  4. tooch420

tooch420 Senior Member
    from LI,NY

2006 gmc sierra 2500hd w/small lift; boss 7 1/2' standard duty; tires - lt285/75 r16

NICHOLS LANDSCA PlowSite Veteran

I run mine at 80psi, you'd run the rears at 80 if you had 1000lbs of tongue weight on a loaded trailer behind it wouldn't you?
  6. Army Vet

Army Vet Member

I run 75psi on all of them! Listen to the above post! Go with the listed PSI!
  7. thelettuceman

thelettuceman PlowSite.com Addict

80 psi for me
  8. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA

Aaaa NOT TRUE on over inflated tire will wear out in the center of the tread.
    Proper tire pressure depends on
    tire construction
    weight the tire will support
    rim width
    max allowable tire pressure (dont exceed)
  9. tooch420

tooch420 Senior Member
    from LI,NY