1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Tire help

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by westernf250, Feb 1, 2010.

1. westernf250

westernf250 Junior Member

I am new to plowing and i have a 1999 ford F-250 Superduty V10 with a western mvp plus 8.5. I curently have firestone steeltex ats on the truck and they are starting to wear out i was just wondering if anyone had any advice for a kind of tire that would be good in the winter for plowing and also for everyday use for the rest of the year. i need something all terain because i sometimes need to go off road for work in the summer. and i also do some toweing with my truck and thats not always on pavement either. im just looking for some advice on a few types of tires that would work for me.

2. Pushin 2 Please

Pushin 2 Please PlowSite Veteran

BF All Terain. IMO the best all purpose tire!

3. westernf250

Thanks i have been considering those but i have heard some bad things about them. have you used them at all?. i still have to do some checking on prices be for i decide because i think the BFGs might be kinda expensive.

4. Pushin 2 Please

Pushin 2 Please PlowSite Veteran

Little over $1000.00 for all four installed. At least here! I do run those on my GMC and love them. My Ford has also has BFGs but not A/T (forget what kind)! Good luck

5. westernf250

Thanks i will have to do some checking around on prices

6. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic

I don't care what anyone else says, you want round tubeless pneumatic tires. :laughing:

I am running brand new BFG ATs right now. Not impressed, compared to Mastercraft MSRs. The MSRs are dedicated snow tires.

I would go with Michelin LTX before BFGs at this point.

7. westernf250