1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Tire Chains?

Discussion in 'ATV / UTV Snow Removal' started by J_Bryant, Dec 13, 2012.

1. J_Bryant

J_Bryant Member

I have a 97 suzuki king quad 4x4 that i will be plowing with, I have a salt spreader on the back, and will be hualing a few bags of salt around, so ill have extra weight in the back, Do you think i will need to buy tire chains? Some old timer down the street had (what sounded like) a good point, He pointed out that when plowing, Your tires would be on clean ground, because the plow pushes it before the tires do, But im not sure how good that really works, as this is my first year plowing. :confused: Also, If i do get chains, Should i just do back tires, Or all 4?

Thanks for any help.ussmileyflag
  2. Dave T

Dave T Senior Member
    from NE PA

My son had an old 300 King Quad. It was literally a tank in the snow (and everywhere else), and with the super low gearing, it was nearly unstoppable. The center of gravity is extremely low, so it can push pretty darn good.

With that said, if you have decent tires on it, I doubt you will need chains. However, in 4WD with chains on the rear with some weight on the racks... you could push a house of its foundation. :laughing:

Seriously, if you have good tires on it, try it without chains... I think you will be amazed. They are an incredibly strong little quad. Thumbs Up
  3. J_Bryant

J_Bryant Member

Thanks, I think im gonna try it without chains, But keep a eye out for a cheap set for the back...
  4. MRadke

MRadke Member
    from WI