1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Tire Chains???

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by bstout, Dec 10, 2011.

1. bstout

bstout Member

My driveway is one half mile long of dirt road. Most of the time I don't need chains or I think I don't need them. There's usually at least one annual blizzard where I get stuck good and have to call my neighbor to come rescue me.

I'm trying to learn about tire chains because I've never used them before. My driveway is level and flat, just long. I guess what I'm asking is will tire chains turn my 05 Tundra with a Boss 7.5 Sport Duty into an unstoppable machine or not so much? Do they make a night & day difference?

I also need tire chains that I can get on and off quickly and easily since they aren't legal here in Wisconsin for highway use. I'd probably only be using them under severe blizzard or when I was afraid not to use them for plowing.

I need guidance as to whether I really need them or not and where can I get some user friendly ones that really work (anyone have a link)? My truck has P265 70R16 Goodyear Wrangler Silent Armor tires all the way around, brand new ones.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Bob

2. leolkfrm

leolkfrm PlowSite.com Addict

weight at the back of the bed would help!...between the tailgate and wheel well gives the most benifit with less weight

3. seville009

seville009 Senior Member
    from CNY

I use these when necessary - they work

http://tirechains.com/STRAPONTIRECHAINS.htm

4. IsaacCarlson

IsaacCarlson Junior Member