1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Tire Chains for Silverado 2500 HD

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by darryl g, Feb 6, 2010.

1. darryl g

darryl g Senior Member
    from CT

This blizzard down south has me thinking that I'm really not as prepared as I should be if we got a really big storm in my neck of the woods. I handled the 20 incher we got back in December with no prolem, but it was a nice light fluffy snow. It was my first big storm with the V plow and it was nice :)

I think I really should have a set of tire chains just in case, so I read up a bit here and was looking at the chains on tirechains.com. I've been plowing since 1999 and have never found the need for them, but I'd rather be prepared. I don't think I've ever seen anyone here other than guys with 2wd dumps and the municipal trucks running chains. I'm down on the CT shore and a lot of the times the snow changes over to rain and minimizes accumulation or washes it away entirely.

I'm not a hard core plow guy. I just service about 20 residential accounts, most of whom are lawn care customers, and one industrial parking lot. Not a lot for steep grades. I have a couple with inclines but they're not dangerous or long or anything. I just want to be able to service my lawn care regulars in the case of a blizzard.

I have an 03 Silverado 2500 HD 4WD running LT 245 75 R16 all terrain tires. Boss Power V XT up front. No sander. I typically run about 500 to 1500 pounds of sand and salt in the bed in bins for ballast, depending on the storm. I have a front end loader and plenty of rocks or sand I could load if I needed to go heavier (my rear acreage was a gravel pit).