1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

TIR3s

Discussion in 'Strobe Lighting' started by DeereFarmer, Nov 20, 2007.

1. DeereFarmer

DeereFarmer PlowSite Veteran

What do you all know about the Whelen TIR3 LED lights? Are they as good as they seem? Can you wire say four of them together in the grille and synchronize them? Do they need a separate power supply to make them flash? I'm new to this whole light thing. I'm thinking of putting two (maybe four) in my grille and two on my crossover toolbox when I start volunteer firefighting. We are required to have lights and I don't really want a lightbar because my truck won't fit in the garage. I was thinking a few TIR3s and a Whelen 90 Watt 6 head hide-a-way kit would to the trick and I'd have a nice sleeper fire truck without drawing a lot of attention to myself.

2. stroker79

stroker79 2000 Club Member

I dont have experiance with the TIR3s but I have the LIN3s which are nearly identical except the reflector is setup different. Mine are amber and they are SUPER BRIGHT. I also have the soundoff predator IIs in my grille and even though they are brighter, its not by much and they have 8 gen 4 leds in them. They can be powered without an external flashe module. They have a sync wire that allows and # of them to flash at the same time. So if you put 4 in your grill then you can have the 2 pairs flashing alternately. At least i beleive that is how they work. I have 2 LIN3s, one under the F_250 badge on the front fender on each side. I have a video of them in strobe video thread. its the video where im in an install bay with the bay lights on.

3. groundbreakers

groundbreakers Senior Member