1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Tips on V-plows

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by ICE CREAM MAN, Dec 15, 2001.

1. ICE CREAM MAN

ICE CREAM MAN Junior Member
    from MA

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum. For a while I have been reading posts and have obtained alot of information. I have been plowing for 6 years with straight blades, and this year I have purchased a new fisher v for truck. Can any one give me any tips about this plow? I would appreciate it. THANKS!:rolleyes:

2. JD PLOWER

JD PLOWER PlowSite.com Veteran

ICM, the biggest tip as far as what you'll most likely need to keep handy is a spare fuse. You should familiarize yourself with how to take your controller apart and what tools you'll need (try not to touch the board inside the joystick) to do the job correctly. For myself this has been the only field repair I've had to do to keep the plow running. Also you should change the fluid yearly (but you probably already knew that one). You'll probably start to notice in the future a "dent" in the back of the moldboard, keep an eye on this becuase it does tend to split some of the weld's in the support bracket. When the plow is'nt mounted on the truck you should store it with the wings retracted.

Go to the Fisher web site and download the manuals and familiarize yourself with the basics of repair and maintainance, they're not much different than a straight blade.

BTW what dairy maid do you own?

3. ICE CREAM MAN

from MA

Thanks for the tip JD. I own the Dairy Queen in Bellingham, MA.

4. nsmilligan

nsmilligan PlowSite.com Veteran