1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Time Management

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by havenprosnow, Nov 4, 2010.

1. havenprosnow

havenprosnow Member

Thanks for all the input for us "newbies." I am new to the industry in SE Pa. I am trying to help a contractor get bids on commercial sites. When I am at the site I am trying to figure how long it will take to clear a lot with 2-4 trucks. For example, I am looking at a site that square footage says that it is just over an acre (46,750 square feet to be exact). They are also looking for sidewalks to be cleared (843 feet of 3 foot wide sidewalks). Most plows we have range from 7'6" to 8'2". Parking lot has 4 small islands to maneuver around. The range of runs vary from 90 feet to 200 feet. Can anyone help a "brother" out and give me a time estimate that it would take to clear this lot with a 4" dry snow fall?
  2. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict

1 hour to an hour and 15 minutes depending on your experience.
  3. Jguck25

Jguck25 Senior Member

with four trucks? I would say that would be 50 mins or so with two trucks with the small 7.5' blades. But probably and hour and 15 or so with one truck with the 8'2" blade. With a 9 foot blade last year i was able to clear and acre is around an hour with around 5-6 inches of snow
  4. havenprosnow

havenprosnow Member

Thank you for the help. I assume experience and a tried formula of some sort brought you to that number. Did you base it on an average of 3 trucks?
  5. Jguck25

Jguck25 Senior Member