1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by Lubold8431, Sep 18, 2006.

1. Lubold8431

Lubold8431 Member

Ok, total newbie here.

Question about Timbrens. I have a Chevy 2500 that I plan on putting a plow on for this winter. Was wondering if I should put TImbrens on in the first place, and secondly, where should I put them? Front? Rear? Or Both?
    I am not planning on running a spreader in the bed, or anything. I plan on using some ballast to offset the weight of the plow. THanks for the responses in advance.
  2. lodogg89

lodogg89 Senior Member

depends on the weight of the plow, if its a small plow they wont make a difference, but something heavier might be good, as far as the rear, dont think you need em, wont have much weight back their anyways.
  3. Lubold8431

Lubold8431 Member

im thinking Im going to get a Fisher 8' plow. I believe it weighs in just shy of 800# with the mounting hardware.
  4. Groundwork

Groundwork Member
    from Vermont

Hey there, When I was running the Fisher plow my first year all I did was put about 600lbs. of sand bags in the back of the truck and it worked fine, no timbrens in the front, the torsion bars were just turned up. The only timbrens that I do have are in the back, and I got those after I got my salter. You will definitly need some sort of ballast in the rear of the truck though. The backdrag blade that is on the plow adds quite a bit of weight as well. Any other questions just ask.
  5. Lubold8431

Lubold8431 Member

Yeah, I was already thinking about running some ballast in the back, was just wondering if Timbrens really help. I am a little hesitant about messing with the torsion bars.
  6. MO TOYS