1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Thoughts on going commercial???

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Kidder, Mar 16, 2009.

1. Kidder

Kidder Junior Member

I am new to the forum and want to say first and foremost thanks for your input. I have been doing residential snow removal for 6 years, I currently have 14 properties that I do to help make the ends meet. I am a professional firefighter and do this to supplemet my income. I am thinking of purchasing a used skidsteer and getting some commercial properties. I feel that I can make more money doing commercial and it is not as physically demanding on my body. I have been weighing the pros and cons for about a year and am really stuckas to which way to go. If I do look at going commercial I am looking at a 40K investment, but am in this for the long haul, probably another 20+ years.
    What are your thoughts on this matter, has anybody else been in this same situation? Thanks. BTW, I live in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada.
  2. WIPensFan

WIPensFan PlowSite Veteran

My first thoughts are - what if there's a :yow!: You would have to have a helper that is capable of doing everything you do. If that's the case you will pay them more than you think. Commercial is a whole new ballgame. More risk, more equip, more time and more money to be made -- and spent. I think with being a firefighter first it will be tough to juggle. Commercials are not as forgiving if you can't get them done when they want either. I'm not telling you not to, but try to picture what will happen if it doesn't work. You will be out a lot of money. Good luck.:salute:
  3. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa