1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

thoughts on a homemade plow mount for ram 2500

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by hondarecon4435, Jan 13, 2011.

1. hondarecon4435

hondarecon4435 Senior Member

I am 18. i have been plowing with atv's for a few years now even though i have a more than adequate truck for the job 1996 ram 2500 cummins. it didn't have a very good transmission in it so i was afraid to put a plow on it. i have recently put a new trans in it and am considering the plow again.

now before you say just buy one materials will cost just as much hear me out. i have all the tools and skills needed to do the fabrication. i have lots of scrap metal lying around and will only have to buy a few small peices.

I will be building it for most likely a meyers plow which is a very simple mount so the design shouldn't be an issue. the reason i want to do this is i can pick up a plow blade for next to nothing drop a few hundred on a pump but i won't have another $400 for the mount and cant justify paying that for such a simple thing.

so any ideas or thought will help out and please don't tell me to just buy one that's not gonna happen so it won't help.also if you have picture of mounts for my truck please post them.
  2. snowfighter75

snowfighter75 Senior Member

I'd go for the fab! You got nothing to loss but your time! You'll save $$$$!! All the best and let us know how it turns out!! Happy Plowing!
  3. bechbru2

bechbru2 Junior Member
    from pa

there's a place in bernville pa not to far from you that sells alot of used mounts. i have bought a few from them they are usually half of new.
  4. Dr Who

Dr Who Senior Member