1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Thoughts About Wet Snow and Plowing it

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by QKSnowRemoval, Dec 12, 2009.

1. QKSnowRemoval

QKSnowRemoval Senior Member

This is my first year at plowing and i had one hell of a way to start out with plowing 8 to 10 inches of wet snow. Is there a special way in plowing it? Cuz correct meif im wrong but it seems to be alot harder on your truck and equipment and harder to move around. So i have come to the conclusion that wet snow just blow to plow. Could you guys help me out and give me some advice and thoughts thankx.
  2. gottaluvplows

gottaluvplows Senior Member

Pretty much IMO just plow it- get it over with
    Also When plowing wet snow try not to push straight so much
    we windrow in wet snow (as much as possible)! and......
    DONT LET IT FREEZE unless u like salting!
    If you let it sit for a day your screwed!
  3. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA

Ya you plow it at 4" and dont wait for 10"
  4. DHDB

DHDB Member

For any snow but especially wet snow, always plan ahead for the next storm. Dont push to the end of a run and stop. If you do, you will leave a big frozen mound of snow in the shape of your moldboard. Guess what happens next storm? Your frozen plow shaped popsicle is waiting at the end of your push, so you have no where to push snow. If it's a parking lot, the lot will just get smaller and smaller and smaller.... Always plan ahead for the next storm.
  5. johnslawn

johnslawn Member
    from ma

Ditto what plowmeister says. imo less wear and tear on truck. Profit margin down but your not pushing the truck or stressing yourself