1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Thoughts? 2 door Tahoe or Wrangler for driveway rig?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by JFon101231, Jun 30, 2014.

1. JFon101231

JFon101231 Senior Member
    from CT

Not really new to the industry per se as I've been plowing for about 4 years, but I'm looking to add another plow vehicle that will just do driveways, as my current truck is just too big for some of what we have around here (a lot of tight L driveways). This new vehicle would be the primary plow truck, and in another year I'm going to replace my truck with something a little newer and that will be more for family duty and backup for equipment failure and/or heavy storms. Looking for opinions, mostly on the two below:

94-97 Chevy Tahoe/GMC Yukon 2 door
    Jeep Wrangler

Would hope to find something without a plow so hopefully less rust etc. Would probably stay with Fisher and do one of their 7-7.5' plows. Maybe do a Daniels backblade but probably just put on a backdrag edge.

What do you guys suggest and why? :nod:

2. 2006Sierra1500

2006Sierra1500 PlowSite.com Addict

2 door Tahoe will hold a 7'6'' HD Fisher. I run one on a 4 door and the 4 door has a lighter front end and smaller torsion bars. Plus on a 2 door, 3/4 ton truck bars will swap right in. A Wrangler isn't as heavy duty and can't take as large of a plow but it is smaller.

3. thelettuceman

thelettuceman PlowSite.com Addict

I certainly agree with the last sentence. You want "smaller" for driveways. Get the Wrangler

4. 2006Sierra1500

2006Sierra1500 PlowSite.com Addict