1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Thinking of swith to Vee. Foreseeable problems/upgrades coming soon?

Discussion in 'Boss Plows Discussion' started by Jakedaawg, Dec 29, 2013.

1. Jakedaawg

Jakedaawg Senior Member
    from N. Mi

I am thinking of switching from a Boss 8' super duty to a Power V XT 9'2". I have a rural plow route with 42 long twisty drives and one 4acre parking lot.

I have a lot of experience running straight blades but a Vee will be new to me.

It seems that the hinge area is a concern for breaking/cracking. Is this a design issue or operator issue? How do they tend to break and is it avoidable with regular maintenance?

Has anyone heard of anything new and great coming in the next year or two? Should I wait to upgrade?

Any comments or ideas may prove useful.

2. JustJeff

JustJeff 2000 Club Member

You can only help yourself with a V blade, there are no drawbacks compared to a straight blade. I'm not sure if it's Boss' VXT or DXT that have both a trip edge and full trip blade, but if I were in the market for a new V blade, that's the one I'd be looking at for sure. I like my trip edge just fine, but see nothing but good things by having both. Your learning curve will be small, and remember, you can always make your V blade a straight blade as well!

3. tuney443

tuney443 PlowSite.com Addict

Unless you're completely inept,out of control,and/or have a propensity for destroying things,you will NOT hurt a Boss V plow under proper plowing techniques.Bang into a frozen snow pile with ANY type of plow and anything can and will break.Have had my 9'2 er since 2001,no issues.

4. djagusch

djagusch 2000 Club Member
    from mn