1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Thinking about following the change oil reminder

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by Plowtoy, Jan 26, 2012.

1. Plowtoy

Plowtoy Senior Member

I have recently changed to a full synthetic oil in my Yukon and my wife's 02 Impala. We were going around 5k miles in between oil changes, but she drives a lot (6k in 3 months).
    I read the owners manual in my Yukon and the Impala, and they both said the same thing: Change the oil with in 2 refuelings from when the reminder light comes on, or 1 year, what ever comes first. I am an ASE mechanic by day and I'm just up in the air with this. I'm not big on synthetic oil, but that is the only way I would be comfortable going that long between oil changes. I was always taught to do it 3 months or 3k miles, but GM says its o.k. to follow the light. WHAT ARE YOUR OPINIONS?? THANKS

2. Plowtoy

Plowtoy Senior Member

THOUGHTS, ANYONE???:popcorn::popcorn::popcorn:

3. tuney443

tuney443 PlowSite.com Addict