1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Think i might know but i'm asking for some opinions...

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by Kuzanut, Jan 30, 2009.

1. Kuzanut

Kuzanut Senior Member

Yes i'm a newbie:jester: to the board but i have been plowing snow for 15 years starting on Craftsmen lawn tractors then moving up to an 87 Dodge 150, 94 Ram1500 both of which had meyers plows, and most recently a 2003 ram 1500 which i found a used (2-3 years old) 7'6" unimount pro plow off of a chevy, not sure what size. Due to the different ride heights of the trucks i had to adjust the plow from so it raised the plow.

My question is that with this plow i can't get it to scrape the driveways clean (there are no plow shoes). most times it leaves a layer of snow about 1/4" thick. The plow is used and aprox 2-3 years old. the cutting edge looks relativley good. To me it seems like the smaller 7'6" long and taller molboard would put more pressure on the edge. Why won't it scrape clean? I haven't changed how i plow, with the other truck i could get a clean scrape.

Any ideas?

2. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

A-frame height has something to do with a blades scraping performance (or lack of).

Is yours parallel to the ground? If not, then thats where you want to start.

3. Kuzanut

Kuzanut Senior Member

I followed the instruction booklet and measured the clearance on the front end and then used that number to determine the correct setting of the plow frame. I mean i looks level, i bet if i threw a tape to it it might be a 1/4 - 1/2 inch off. other then that it looks right...

4. flakesmeangreen

flakesmeangreen Senior Member