1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Things to look for in a used Vbox

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by beanz27, Nov 29, 2014.

1. beanz27

beanz27 Senior Member

So I'm fairly new to sanding/salting, I've done it before, know the basics etc, but I've always subbed my sanding out, since I didn't have a place to put a pile, and I'm sure as hell not doing bags for the lots I do, I'd break my back.

So now I've secured a place to put a pile, have a supplier etc etc. I'm looking at gas powered chain V box spreaders. Figure I got the big accounts, have a nice flatbed dually that can handle it, so why go small when I'll regret it, right?

Obvious things come to mind such as the chain, bearings, and engine. Any other things to look out for? I'll be running 75% sand, 25% salt mix in these. Brand isn't an issue, the only two things I know for sure is I WILL NOT do an auger, as I'm not having it jam on me with small chunks of sand, and I WILL NOT do electric, as they just seem weak to me compared to gas.

What kind of capacity we talking for yards in a V box on a one ton? I'm thinking something like a 1.5-2 yard spreader? That sound right? I've run a Buyers brand Vbox a few times, stainless steel, drag chain, gas engine, but I haven't run anything else. I never had issues with them the few times I ran it, but are they fairly decent?

Seems meyers, and buyers seems to be hit or miss with guys on here, more so then other brands. Thanks for any answers or insight you guys might have for me!

2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Weak electric, no augers,,,,man what vboxs have you been around?

Electric, and auger imo are way better then a gas chain. And yes I can speak from experience.