1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

The standard question

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by ProEnterprises, Dec 15, 2008.

1. ProEnterprises

ProEnterprises Senior Member
    from CT

I am looking at buying a 2002 f350, v10, manual trans with a fisher plow. Here is the question: will I be hating myself for buying a manual trans for plowing.

I am not a newbie and know how to drive standard, I am just wondering for this instance...
  2. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA

If you regulary drive a standard youl be ok if regulary drive an auto youl hate it
  3. Rangerman

Rangerman Senior Member

That shouldnt be an issue with a gas. Yeah it will be a little worse and u will want a handheld controlleer for the plow but the over all size of the truck maybe ur biggest issue.
  4. KCLawnTamer

KCLawnTamer Member
    from Kansas

That would be my last resort.. That manual wouldnt be too fun.. Find you an automatic..:waving:
  5. sven1277

sven1277 Senior Member

I was seriously considering a new mitsu fuso fg140 this fall with a boss v on it, but I just couldn't do it b/c of the trans. You are already doing so much with right foot on gas, left foot ready to brake, one hand steering and the other hand shifting from forward to reverse and operating the operating the plow controller. I didn't want to add the additional steps of operating a clutch and shifter. Definately personal preference.
  6. BSDeality

BSDeality Senior Member