1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

The right Truck - Help!!!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Mikeymo045, Nov 26, 2010.

1. Mikeymo045

Mikeymo045 Junior Member
    from CT

Hello,

This is my first post and I need some help. I have been plowing 2 driveways for the past 2 years with my 2000 Dodge Dakota V8 with 7.5' Western Plow. This year I felt comfortable enough to offer my service to my neighbors and it kind of exploded into 15 people wanting to use me. My questions are as follows:
    - I am considering trading in this truck and upgrading - what would the best truck to handle 15-20 residential driveways?
    - Should my Dakota be able to handle this? the temp gauge has been running hot and I am assuming I need a radiator to handle the plow.?.?
    - I am considering trading in my truck and car to get a year round truck so I only have 1 vehicle - what would you suggest to handle this volume of plowing and also have some decent features for a year round without spending a small fortune (under 20k)

Thanks for you help!!!

Mike

2. BUFF

BUFF PlowSite Fanatic
    from FR NoCo

Mike

- I am considering trading in this truck and upgrading - what would the best truck to handle 15-20 residential driveways? This is a tough on to answer without knowing the driveways; some could be 1/2 mile long, two cars deep, or a goat trail up the side of a mtn. If it's similar to what you've been doing and the Dakota does fine why throw down a pile money on something you really don't need.