1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

The Proof is in the Pudding!

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by glenspot, Nov 29, 2004.

1. glenspot

glenspot Senior Member

As I've said before, this is my first year. I've asked TONS of questions on plowsite, and gotten TONS of good advice.

Being NEW it qualifies me to post a story about my first real weekend of plowing. (We got between 12-20" of snow over a 3-day period)

Day 1. (Thanksgiving day) Snowed only in the afternoon. I had to leave after thanksgiving dinner to plow my commercial lots. Snowed overnight.

Day 2. Went outside plow wouldn't operate. Rechecked connections at solenoid, plow starting working again. (20-minute delay)

After plowing all my driveways and lots, a had a headlight assembly break. ($100)

Decided that my route takes me about 2 hours.

Day 3. Morning snow was in the forecast. Woke up at 2am, 3am, 4am, 5am, 6am. Not enough additional snow to plow. At 7am, everyone needed plowing. Plowed everyone. Everything went great. Need to put the ballast back in the bed.

After everything was done, I got a call from a church down the street. They had a severe need to be plowed out the next morning. Would I like to do it? Sure. See you at 6am.

Day 4 (Sunday) 5am...started plowing the church. Hydraulic line broke. (Didn't have a back up). Called my backup-truck-guy. He said I could have his truck around noon. YIPES.

At 8:30, called the local western dealer at home, we went to the garage, got a hydraulic hose. (Have to stop in today to pay for it...i'm guessing $25.)