1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

The Blizzard made my decision

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by bassettKing, Jan 27, 2016.

1. bassettKing

bassettKing Junior Member

Hello everyone.

After spending 16 hours with a snowblower clearing my driveway and other neighbors on the block,:) mother nature made the decision for me and I went and purchased a Western Pro Plus 8'. It is a really nice plow (At least to me since I am a noob). This is my first plow and I got to try it out tonight. One thing I noticed when plowing was that the truck was some-what difficult to make sharper turns with. The roads were clear and wet and I had it in 4x4. Will that difficulty go away when there is actually snow on the ground?

My Truck is a Ford F-250 with the 6.2L Gas. Truck handled fine when I was bringing it home from the dealer. Just wanted to make sure the difficulty was normal. For now, I am only looking at doing residential but, may think about commercial next season.

Thanks for any help and tips.

Regards

2. bmc1025

bmc1025 Member

I would suggest you run in 2wd unless there is snow on the ground especially with the plow attached. Make sure you also have some sort of ballast weight in the bed, 500 Lbs or so is a good starting point.

3. JoeG3

JoeG3 Senior Member

4wd limits the turning radius of the truck. If you need to make sharp turns you should plan to be in 2wd or swing wide.

4. WIPensFan

WIPensFan PlowSite Veteran

To answer the question...Yes, the difficulty will go away with snow on the ground.

5. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

No pixs means no plow.

6. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Exactly.......

7. allagashpm

allagashpm Senior Member