1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Tax ? Minnesota

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by PTTP08, Feb 2, 2011.

1. PTTP08

PTTP08 Senior Member
    from mn

I am new to the biz and I am a really small outfit but I seem to be getting bigger and I want to have my "ducks in a row"

should I be charging sales tax on my invoices? I read for snow removal is not taxable and lawn care is taxable. Is this true?

also I am getting 1099ed at the end of the year on my commercial accounts so do I tax these invoices? Or am I paying the tax at the end of the year so to speak?

I think I am going to hit the books!

Thanks much!

2. PTTP08

PTTP08 Senior Member
    from mn

I also am doing the right offs for gas and maintenance repair and all that jazz. I forgot to say this before.

3. PTTP08

PTTP08 Senior Member
    from mn

After some extensive research on the MN.Tax web site we figured it out!! But the hard and annoying part was getting my quick books to stick on a dam invoice!! Ya gatta love uncle sam!!

4. lazyike

lazyike Member

Yep, very confusing when you are starting out. No sales tax on snow removal, but there is sales tax on lawn cutting, Tree trimming, shrub trimming, but if you leave the shrub trimmings it's not I think. But yea it gets confusing, also if you salt or sand that is taxable. Best thing you can do is call a tax preparer, they can help you usually for free. Good luck.

5. Mike_TT&L

Mike_TT&L Junior Member