1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Tarping salt loads

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Deershack, Oct 10, 2009.

1. Deershack

Deershack Senior Member

I'm new to salting and just got a 5-7 yd dump with an UTG spreader. Being new, I presently don't have enough contracts to guarantee using my whole load on one event. Since my truck will be stored outside for up to a week with a partial load on it, I am concerned that the salt will get wet and turn to rock in the box.

I plan on building a PVC frame that will keep a tarp of the salt and overlap the box sides so that any water will be kept off the salt.

In searching the site , I can only find references to those lucky enough to empty their box on each event.

Anyone have any comments and/or experiences with this kind of plan?
  2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Empty your load EVERY time. There is some moisture in salt naturally and salt pulls moisture from the air around it. A tarp will keep snow from the salt but not the moisture. Straight salt WILL freeze and you will have a mess. To prevent salt from freezing - store in a heated structure, mix with sand or treat the salt with something like Magic -0 or Ice Ban.
  3. Deershack

Deershack Senior Member