1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Taking sub-contracted work?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by superdog1, Oct 16, 2011.

1. superdog1

superdog1 Senior Member

I am new to the business and I am wondering if taking on sub-contracted work is a good idea until I get established? It seems my inbox is full of requests asking if I am willing to do this. While I do realize there may be some decent CO's out there trying to find assistance, it seems as though everything I read says that doing this type of work is a bad idea?

I was going to post this in the "New to the business" section, but I figured that if you are new, you wouldn't know the answer, hence this post. Any thoughts? I know that some of the Nationals are always looking for independents that are willing to work for $30 an hour while they bill out for $100. While I want to work, I also don't want to get.................you all know what word comes next, Lol
  2. framer1901

framer1901 Senior Member

IMO - working for someone is the best thing to do for at least the first year. Work for someone local, not a big national.

You'll learn what it takes to do this kind of work, diferent options for every facet of this business, how long it takes to get something done or what it takes and probably best of all, you learn at someone elses expense.

The biggest thing is be HONEST with people you approach about working for them, sign the no compete if they ask, work your butt off for them and show a willingness to learn and the right person will get you ten years worth of experience.