1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Tailgate Spreader

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Hscaper101, Nov 28, 2009.

1. Hscaper101

Hscaper101 Junior Member
    from NJ

Hello everyone I've been an avid reader on this forum and have just joined today!

I'm new to the commercial snow removal business and have picked up my first commercial account. Storage facility with three buildings of garages.

This will be my only account for this season, and I will need a salt/sand spreader for my truck (2003 F-250). I will not need anything crazy as it will only be used for this one account. I would like something easy to install on my own and without a helping hand. I will need to remove the spreader in order to attach my trailer. I would like to connect via my trailer hitch and not the tailgate.

If you can please suggest a few options I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you.

2. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic

Welcome to PS.
    The only tailgate salter's I have used are the 2 stage ones. They have a conveyor belt on the bottom to take the material to the spinner. This would be your best choice for sand/salt. The problem you are going to have is mounting it by yourself. You would have to make up a dolly or use an engine hoist or something alone those lines. The drop spreaders are lighter but I'm not sure how well they will spread sand/salt. If you put a vibrator on it and wait until you are going to spread to use it you might be OK. The drop spreader is also significantly cheaper. A 2 stage spreader would be close to $2500.

3. Hscaper101

Hscaper101 Junior Member
    from NJ