1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Tailgate clearance with spreader

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by GLS, Sep 10, 2003.

1. GLS

GLS Senior Member

I have been searching the web and looking at different tailgate spreaders. I have never owned one, and I have no experience with one. I can't seem to find any specs on the clearance between the tailgate of the spreader. I would assume that it sits fairly close and I would need a swing mount to open the tailgate?

I have an ez dumper and in the down position, the gate sticks out about 12" past the bumper. Does anyone make a tailgate spreader with that much clearance?

I also can't seem to find a trynex or snowex website. Do they have one?

The western pro flow 2 looks nice but is probably pricey. Can anyone give me a ballpark figure on a proflow 2 with the replacement hitch w/brackets?

Any other thoughts?

Thanks
    Ryan

gate.jpg

2. wxmn6

wxmn6 PlowSite.com Addict

Ryan,

If it could help, there was a thread that got discussed not too long ago and it may help you with some of your questions.

http://www.plowsite.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=10733

I doubt that you would have enough clearance between the tailgate gate and the spreader. Someone in the above thread made a swing away gate, but still have a bit of problem when closing the gate when the spreader is loaded with salt.

As far as the pricing, the last time I was at the Fisher dealer, I saw a sticker on the Fisher SpeedCaster 2 (similar to Western ProCaster 2) and it said $2600 installed I think.

3. CT18fireman

CT18fireman Banned

I think Stephan that he is looking for a add on tailgate spreader for the dumper.