1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Tail-Gate spreaders

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by micdd, Nov 3, 2002.

1. micdd

micdd Junior Member
    from N.Y.

I'm just starting out. I'm looking for a tail-gate spreader that will spread the rock salt with magic on it. Any body know of a good
    brand / model that really works? Would like to keep the price
    down below $ 1000.00
    I have a 1999 GMC 2500 Ext. Cab Shortbed.
  2. cat320

cat320 2000 Club Member

Most of the single stage unites will spread the rock salt.But could not tell you if they are under $1,000.My fisher speedcaster II went for around $2,200 a few years ago uninstalled.
  3. micdd

micdd Junior Member
    from N.Y.

Thank You for the info. I was looking at the Buyers Brand in the Northern catalog. 600 lbs spreader for $900 or the SUV spreader
    that holds 300 lbs for $400. I did see the Fisher Spreaders. That
    is on the wish list. Budget lets me go for $ 1000 max..

PINEISLAND1 PlowSite.com Veteran

I have a Western single stage, a buyers old style, and a trynex. They all work fine, especially with magic salt. The magic is very easy to spread.

I am looking for another one now, and would like another Wetern 1000 single. Its worked great for us, and it matches the color on my newest truck !
  5. landman

landman Senior Member
    from NJ