1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Tail gate sander

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by robertpkerrsr@h, Dec 24, 2008.

1. robertpkerrsr@h

robertpkerrsr@h Member

I have been plowing for 36 years with out any sanding capabilities. My own driveway gives me the most ice issues. I have a 2001 2500 HD Duramax 6 ft body with a fiberglass cap on the back and an 8 ft Fisher Minute Mount plow. I was considering a hitch mounted type of sander. Does anyone out there have a similar set up or any thoughts in general? From checking around on line it appears that some of the sanders will only spread salt. I will probably only be spreading sand. Thanks for any help.

RPK

2. ohchit

ohchit Junior Member

If you only plan to throw sand then don't waste money on a tailgate spreader. Just invest in a bucket and a pair of gloves. Tailgate spreaders just bridge up and piss you off. I know there will be guys on here that say that their spreaders throw sand but don't listen they just want someone else to look as dumb as them for trying to throw it..

3. Ropinghorns

Ropinghorns Senior Member

What he said.... Never heard of anyone that could spread sand with a tailgate spreader. I even tryed my 3point tractor spreader and it did not work without someone poking the sand down with a baseball bat. I had to get a Western Tornado to get good results. I also tarp the sand to keep it dry.

4. robertpkerrsr@h

robertpkerrsr@h Member

Thanks for the advise guys. That's what I suspected. I won't waste my $$

RPK

5. 6feetdeep

6feetdeep Senior Member