1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Switching to blowing service

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by PTSolutions, Nov 25, 2010.

1. PTSolutions

PTSolutions PlowSite.com Addict

Note: Please don't comment or make suggestions if you have not read this original post. I will explain our situation and goal as best I can. Too many times people post something that wasn't asked for or the option was not even on the table to begin with.

Ok, well I have been researching this option for about 2 years now and would like to implement this in my area. I have read, searched and watched videos and ran some numbers to see if this service would be not only feasable but profitable as well. Looking at Neige, BlackIrish, Blowerman as examples I applied their business model to our operations and looked at the overlaps.

Our current situation:

-This year we are operating 4 of our own plow trucks, 1 sub and 1 ASV RC100 with 85"blower

-We service approximately 200 residential customers, about 75% of which are located within a 1.5mile radius of our base of operations. ~110 of those customers have a 10hr. service window. (senior citizen program, discounted rate and longer service window)

-We service a 62 unit HOA with driveways that avg. 1 car length by 2 car widths. This account will be done with the ASV with Blower and 1 of the trucks will do the roadway (6/10ths of a mile)

-We service 4 other commercial lots the largest of which is approx. 1 acre. 2 of those lots are done regularly, the other is a church and activity center that need to be done only for certain days, unless they get 3" or more.

-We strive for and achieve a 6hr route completion time (under normal circumstances)