1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Sweeping Profit?

Discussion in 'Sweeper Forum' started by hoopdavies, Jun 29, 2007.

1. hoopdavies

hoopdavies Junior Member
    from Va

Hello all,

This is my first post. I have been investigating sweeping for the past 6 months. I don't know if anyone has seen the article in this months "Inc." magazine, . It has a story in back about a young kid who started sweeping from scratch in Louisiana.

Here is the link:
    http://www.inc.com/magazine/20070701/hidi-boykin.html

My question is: He says that a local walmart pays 3,200 to 3,800 a month for sweeping. Do the large big box guys pay in lump sum contracts or is ONLY by the hour like most members here say?

Second: He says that after just a few months he is grossing 45,000 a month on two Schwarze s347's doing about 10 lots a night for various big box stores. Is this a realistic number in terms of monthly revenue?

Third: If he grosses this much is he taking home 20, 30 ,40 or 50+ percent or MORE of that money? I didn't know sweepers made that much money on consistent work.

Whats your take on this?

2. murray83

murray83 Senior Member

Not a sweeper myself but they are high maintance machines and one you break down the insurance,up keep,fuel,operator etc you'll find its actually more of a pain sometimes than most think.

Dwan would be an excellant person to ask as he's broken down the costs of doing business before in some of these threads,do a search and start reading lots of good info to be sought on this forum.

3. samtm82

samtm82 Junior Member
    from usa

profits