1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

suspension fears

Discussion in 'Fisher Engineering Discussion' started by rmartini27, Oct 7, 2011.

1. rmartini27

rmartini27 Senior Member

I have been plowing for about 10 years with my 94 2500 with a 5.7L. The truck has a 8' Fisher plow that must weigh 7 or 8 hundred pounds. I have a 2003 GMC 2500 HD with a duramax. As some of you already know I've decided on a XV, I would love to get the 9.5' XV but the 1000+ pounds is making me nervous. Have any of you guys tried tweaking your torsion bars for a little extra height? Also installed timbrens? Do you think if i do both I will be OK? I know I am going to have to add some weight to the back, I just don't want to have to add 800lbs. I drive the truck every day and gas is expensive enough without an extra 1/2 ton in my bed. Thanks for the input

2. RepoMan207

RepoMan207 PlowSite Fanatic
    from Maine

No no no no, bad idea. The 9.5 xv weighs alittle more then the XLS. Which was really too heavy for my truck, which is only a 6.0....take into consideration I had upgraded keys, bars, and timbrens. Yes it was a recommended plow, but not in my book. It was way too heavy.

Is the 8.5 even recommended for your truck? I would run it regardless, but not a 9.6. Buy timbrens whatever you do, and jack out the torsion bars at the very least.

3. rmartini27

rmartini27 Senior Member

REPOMAN that my friend is the problem. The recommended blade sizes for that truck are a 7.6 SD and a 7.6 HD. the engine for that truck is very heavy. The recommended ballasts are SD 390lbs the HD 1000lbs. That equals no gas milage.

4. RepoMan207

from Maine