1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

suburban or excursion??????

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by johngus, Aug 31, 2002.

1. johngus

johngus Senior Member

I'm thinking of buying a new truck.With a new son born last week I think it's time to trade the pickup for an SUV.I've been looking at 2500 suburbans and ford excursions.What would you guys buy for your plow truck.?I'm gonna put my 7.5 meyers from my dodge on th e new truck.Would you reccomend a pre 2000 sub. or go with 2000 up?I'm new to this IFS front suspensions but after checking the search feature,people say the GM has a higher FGVW.Is this true.The local dealer has some 99 2500 subs at a resonable price,low 20's.Thanks for any repliies.What are any thoughts about a 1500 suburban???

2. karl klein

karl klein Senior Member

i have a 1997' 2500 suburban 7.4ltr. with the 8' ultramount and love it

3. mdb landscaping

mdb landscaping Senior Member

what about a 4 door silverado 2500HD?

4. johngus

johngus Senior Member

I waslooking at crew cab pickups,problem is the used market is non exhistant here and new is out of my budget.

5. Pelican

Pelican 2000 Club Member

The front axle on the Excursion is the same one used on the F-550 with different gears, brakes, wheels & tires. The 550 is rated for 17,500 gvw, I don't have the front axle specs handy. I crawled under both my 350 and 550 side by side, the part numbers on the housing and steering components are the same.