1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Subcontractor rate in NWI

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by ferdinand711, Sep 5, 2010.

1. ferdinand711

ferdinand711 Senior Member

Does $45/ hour sounds fare for a subcontractor NOW for NWI. I heard the rate last year was around $55-65/hr, but I guess with the economy, everybody seems to be cutting on costs.

2. VIPHGM

VIPHGM Senior Member

I don't think i would even get out of bed for that.... standard around here is at least $55 and that's being a newbie, i usually pay out $65 for my guys and If i sub contract out i want at least $75 - $90... hell unless there going to give you 20 hours each snow event i would say pass, after your cost in fuel, time, wear and tear... think of it at a business view, if you have to pay someone to drive plus your fuel and your overhead would $45 even make sense...

3. Brian Young

Brian Young PlowSite Veteran

Our crappy rate must be contagious. We use to get in the 40's but now I guess its around 30-35/hr. I havent subbed out in a couple years.

4. got-h2o

got-h2o 2000 Club Member

Who is it for? PM is all good too if you don't want to reply in an open thread.

Going rate is $55 or so for a straight blade, on up for V's and expandable plows. $70-75 isn't unheard of for an MVP or 810. If anybody is lowballing subs, they'll soon see they get what they pay for. Everybody and their brother bought a plow last year, and 90% of them don't know what they're doing. Companies will spend more on subs by paying them less per hour than paying someone decent a decent amount.

I'm in Griffith, but work all around the area and have either my hands or ears in a lot going on around here.