1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

subcontractor question

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by james.j.smith, May 3, 2012.

1. james.j.smith

james.j.smith Senior Member
    from 19033

I've been plowing as a sub for several years for the same landscaping company. the way that it worked in the past was that when it snowed i'd receive a text or call making sure that I was ready then another text or call to go out. At that Time i would normally be told what site to go to. The owner of the landscaping company that I sub for recently acquired a excavating company. This year I was told I was one of his subs and got my badging/clearance for the properties that needed them. then with the limited snowfalls, when we did get snow he used his guys to do the lots I was normally responsible for.

example being is that on 1 storm (approximately 2" - 3") got the text saying to be ready then no followup call since he sent his landscaping people out to plow the lots.

everything I have done in the past has been verbal, should I have a written contract with this company or is this normally how being a sub works?
  2. james.j.smith

from 19033

I'd like to add that since this happen three times this year with very little snow I made money in snow removal this year and am in the red (like many people).

my buddy (who works for the same company) wants us to get our own contracts this year and I don't know if I think the idea yet.

I just want to make sure I have things lined up right before next plow season.
  3. RLM

RLM PlowSite.com Addict