1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Subbing for cheap... whats this guy make from my a$$?

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by DScapes, Jan 13, 2010.

1. DScapes

DScapes Member

What would this lot bid out for roughly? rates around here go from $75an hour for a guy in a truck up to $125/hr for an established company looking to sub out... what would you guys do this lot for assuming you bid/did the work yourself? probably around a ton / ton and a half of salt spread?

this is my first year in snow removal and right now i've got a few resi's myself but i've been helping a buddy out subbing, just trying to get a grasp of numbers so i'm not short-handing myself of potential profits running good equipment (02 GMC 2500HD Sierra, BOSS 7.6" straight, standard duty, about to add some boss wings) 500# snow ex hitch spreader

lot size.jpg

2. clark lawn

clark lawn PlowSite.com Addict
    from NE ohio

what is he paying you? by the hour i assume. you said it is your first year plowing so yes he is going to pay you less than someone with expierance.

3. Brant'sLawnCare

Brant'sLawnCare PlowSite.com Addict

Well around here, sub rates are somewhere between $50-65 / hr. Around here a lot like that (just under 3 acres) would go for around $300-500 depending on who is bidding, what equipment is used and the type of service the client is expecting. For sidewalks, I would figure around $65-80, plus calcium chloride at a per pound applied price.

4. DScapes

DScapes Member

My bad, I'm experienced in running trucks, just first year with my own equip.