1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Sub Work Ins&Outs

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by northernnewbie, Sep 27, 2007.

1. northernnewbie

northernnewbie Member

What do I need to know about sub-contracting?

Insurance? Should I expect to get any coverage from the contractor or should I only count on having my own to protect me?

Rates (hourly or contract)?

Hours? I need a flexible schedule cause I'll be starting new classes in January and I also have a 2nd shift job. Do you guys usually contract people on-call or do you only offer specific routes?

Sorry if my questions are dumb, I am totally new to this. Last winter I plowed out a hand full of friends, volunteered at a non-profit where I know some people and plowed out one small business for lowball $. I don't want to be a lowballer, I promise :angel: This winter I really need money out of this $4K plow or I've got to get rid of it.
  2. lilweeds

lilweeds PlowSite.com Addict

The one thing I will say with ANY subs for ANY job, have them list you AND your customer as additional insured on their policy. It just make good cents! I also recomend that they have at least a mil policy for general liability and auto liability.
  3. NE Snowmelting

NE Snowmelting Junior Member
    from 02333

I agree, with the man! The good thing also is that you will know the sub is professional enough that he has coverage.
  4. MickiRig1

MickiRig1 PlowSite Veteran

Make sure your insurance is up to snuff, buy more to cover you,talk to your agent.