1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Sub Questions and things to look out for

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by jdilliplane1, Dec 15, 2010.

1. jdilliplane1

jdilliplane1 Senior Member

First off, Let me say thank you to everyone on this site. Throughout the many forums and threads, I have increased my knowledge greatly over the past few weeks.

I am a newbie to using a snow plow to remove snow, but have worked the past few years doing snowblowing, shoveling, etc as the storms came in. This year I have decided since my 99 F250 already has a western unimount on it, although I didn't buy the plow from the previous owner, I know stupid, to take the chance and jump in on subbing myself out. I already have one guy that I picked up about 15 properties from, most small, a few about an hours work. Since that doesn't have to be done until snow stops, I am looking at subbing for some of the bigger construction companies around here. I got commercial auto, the liability, but am alarmed at some of the wording in the contractual language. Even though they are gonna pay me 75 an hour and supply salt, no shoveling needed, I am a little leary of lawsuits. My regular job is as a firefighter and I see the BS everyday from people trying to get rich off someone else's back.

So, for those of you who have subbed B4, what should I be careful of in choosing someone to sub for. It seems as if they stack the cards against you with the language so that no matter what happens, your at fault. I don't want to be out of business the first year because of some a##hole.

Any advice is appreciated and welcomed.